Erwin Java – Keepin’ It Real (2017/2020) [24bit FLAC]

Erwin Java – Keepin’ It Real (2017/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:10 minutes | 456 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Erwin Java

The album ‘Keepin’ It Real ‘opens with the almost hundred year old jazz song’ Sweet Georgia Brown ‘, written by Ben Bernie and Maceo Pinkard. In the thirties, Django Reinhardt recorded an instrumental version of the song and Erwin Java does that too. The big difference is that Java turns it into a punchy blues song with Erwin’s guitar in the lead. Not only the guitar, but also the keys of Bas Mulder and the harmonica of Tollak Ollestad ensure that this instrumental opener is a winner. ‘High And Lonesome’ is a Jimmy Reed cover sung in a great way by Ralph de Jongh. Full of dedication and with much conviction as we are used to from Ralph. Erwin Java shines in this ‘High And Lonesome’ with insanely strong slide work and harmonica player Tollak Ollestad also makes a wonderful contribution with handsome bladder and suction. Barrelhouse singer Tinneke Schoemaker replaces Ralph de Jongh behind the micro for the catchy slow blues ‘Don’t Give Up On Me’, which most music lovers know in the version of Solomon Burke. Tinneke puts all her heart and soul into that beautiful voice of hers. Java is constantly present with excellent melodic guitar riffs. It is no surprise that the Dutch guitar god has a soft spot for the American guitar god and legend Jimi Hendrix. It is surprising that Erwin singer Tinneke Schoemaker has the song sung. Surprising, but a good choice after listening to the song. Erwin Java uses the pedal board much less than his American colleague did in 1966 and as a result we hear fierce and razor-sharp guitar work, which sounds much cleaner than in the original version.


1. Erwin Java – Sweet Georgia Brown
2. Erwin Java – High and Lonesome
3. Erwin Java – Don’t Give up on Me
4. Erwin Java – Red House
5. Erwin Java – I Put a Spell on You
6. Erwin Java – You Don’t Have to Go
7. Erwin Java – Big Boss Man
8. Erwin Java – Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City
9. Erwin Java – Divin’ Duck Blues
10. Erwin Java – A Change Is Gonna Come

Free Download

Back To Top