Ernesto Cervini – Tetrahedron (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Ernesto Cervini – Tetrahedron (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:40 minutes | 995 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Anzic Records, LLC

Tetrahedron is the new chord-less trio led by Ernesto Cervini. Featuring two of Canada’s finest improvisers, Luis Deniz on Alto Saxophone and Rich Brown on Electric Bass, the band plays originals from all three musicians as well as funky arrangements of standards. It’s a groovy, energetic trip! The group has been performing extensively around southern Ontario for the past 4 years, and will be recording their debut album in April of 2019, with special guest, guitarist Nir Felder from NYC.

I’m thrilled to be releasing this new album of music, with these world-class musicians! I’ve known guitarist Nir Felder since 2004, and I always knew I wanted to work and record with him. Since moving back to Toronto from NYC, we fell out of touch as our lives kept us busy in our respective cities, but I was thrilled to reconnect with him and have him join us for this album. I’ve been playing with Luis Deniz and Rich Brown since 2014, and I knew from the beginning that the connection was strong. We have a blast playing music together, and I’m so happy we’ve finally captured this, with the help of our wonderful producer, and my dear friend, Dan Fortin.

The music on this album is a collection of original compositions and covers, curated and/or composed especially for this group. This collection of music brings out the strengths of each musician and provides a wonderful backdrop for us to explore and improvise.

The Sneaky Two was written for a slow-moving #2 train in NYC, and Boo Radley is for the wonderful character from “To Kill A Mockingbird”. Stro was written in dedication to former Toronto Blue Jays pitcher, Marcus Stroman. I’m so happy to finally be recording Angelicus, by Vince Mendoza. I discovered this song in my first year of university, and I’ve been playing it in various groups for the past 20 years!

I had an absolute blast recording this music with these incredible musicians, and I sincerely hope you enjoy it.

01. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise (4:45)
02. Forward Motion (6:59)
03. Angelicus (5:52)
04. Boo Radley (5:20)
05. Stro (7:09)
06. Summit Song (5:03)
07. Wandering (4:24)
08. The Sneaky Two (8:12)

Luiz Deniz, alto saxophone
Nir Felder, guitar
Rich Brown, bass
Ernesto Cervini, drums

Recorded on April 11 & 12 2019 at Union Sound in Toronto by John ‘Beetle’ Bailey
Mixed by John ‘Beetle’ Bailey. Mastered by Fedge

Produced by Dan Fortin and Ernesto Cervini

Free Download

Back To Top