Edouard Ferlet – Think Bach, Op. 2 (2017) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz

Artist: Edouard Ferlet
Title: Think Bach, Op. 2
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 00:49:50
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Label: Melisse

After playing Russians in four hands or at the side of the harpsichord, the jazz pianist returns to the solo exercise of reflection around Johann Sebastian Bach. Challenge raised, body and soul. Think Bach or think Bach and even rethink is the project of pianist Edouard Ferlet, balanced on the thread that distinguishes reproduction and invention, where as written by pianist and composer Adrian O. Smith (Arden Day) the work Bach would be both "the promise and the turn that the pianist would give us what the conjurers call prestige."

Edouard Ferlet lets us hear stages of transformation, but without realizing it, as if we were going through "several decompression chambers" as he writes about this "Crazy B." interpretation from the first of the Goldberg Variations. This is not the first time that Edouard Ferlet has worked in this direction of acquisition and distortion through improvisation: there had been Think Bach the first part (5 years ago), the project "Bach Plucked Unplucked With the harpsichordist Violaine Cochard and then recently 5 Russian composers reinterpreted as a duo (4 hands with Paul Beynet) for Pentagram (which we have already mentioned here). Here the exercise is solitary, full of doubts as he confides in the notes (almost give up to explore The Passion according to St. John "it is difficult to transform such perfect works (...) We are afraid to spoil, to go How can we succeed in opening another radical direction? "asks the pianist, an exercise that sometimes leads to the stripping, to the melody alone, as in Concerto No. 5.


  1. Oves - 5:17
  2. Anthèse - 5:21
  3. Mind the Gap - 4:46
  4. Et si - 5:26
  5. Es ist Vollbracht. - 4:50
  6. Les Bacchantes - 7:34
  7. Mécanique organique - 2:18
  8. Harpsichord Concerto No. 5 in F Minor, BWV 1056: II. Largo - 4:05
  9. Crazy B - 4:20
  10. Miss Magdalena - 5:58



Back To Top